Fat-Free Raspberry Frozen Yogurt

My family has had a small ice cream maker for over 15 years now, and I think we may have used it five times in all those years.  A few of the blogs I follow keep having recipes for sorbet, frozen yogurt (fro-yo as some may call it), ice cream, and granita (which is pronounced gra-knee-ta, for those people like me who can’t seem to pronounce that word).  This hot weather has prompted me to find a recipe for a sweet, delectable treat, too.  We had some frozen raspberries in the freezer so I decided to give them a try.  I found a recipe for raspberry frozen yogurt and got busy.

This recipe is from Cooking Light with a few modifications.  I took the thawed, frozen raspberries (originally frozen, now thawed) and blended them in the blender.  I then put them through a sieve into a bowl which gets rid of the crunchy seeds and any other non-tasty pieces.

I added the sugar, yogurt, and milk to the raspberries, and that’s it for ingredients.  I used fat-free vanilla yogurt, but you could use low-fat, plain, or flavored yogurt.  I would be interested in trying this again with some flavored yogurt to add another dimension to the flavor combination. Also, feel free to use skim, 2%, or whole milk, but this is no longer fat-free when you use whole milk, obviously. As well, add half the sugar, and then taste the mixture.  Your berries must be extra tart or extra sweet, so tweak the sugar amount accordingly.

All of this was added to my minute ice cream maker (that has been in the freezer for at least 24 hours).  It seems like these days that ice cream makers do anything in the touch of a button and in a flash.  Use whatever you have, just follow your instructions.  I used the old crank method because my maker is from the stone ages.  I cranked the ice cream maker for about 4-5 minutes, scraping the bowl every few minutes. Okay, okay, my mother cranked a little bit, too.  When the mixture started to solidify, I put it in the freezer for about 1 hour.  I left my ice cream in the ice cream maker but I would recommend putting it in a different container for easy cleanup later.

When that hour is up or when you get tired of waiting, scoop out some vibrant pink ice cream into a bowl and enjoy.  No toppings, cones, or add-ins needed.  Hint:  Eat this ice cream the day you make it, because the next day it became more icey and less ice cream like.

(So here’s the mixture, pre mixing, I forgot to take a picture of the final product, and when I went back to take a picture of the leftovers, they were gone.  My family really loved this recipe)

The ice cream had a sweet flavor with a initial strong taste of raspberry followed by an aftertaste of creamy goodness, perfect for cooling off on a hot day.  Try with whatever fruits or berries you have on hand.

Recipe from Cooking Light (modified by me)

Recipe: Raspberry Frozen Yogurt (This recipe is for 8 servings, my ice cream maker would only accommodate a half recipe, so just check your ice cream maker before beginning.)

Leave a Reply

