Scotch Toffee (i.e. Key to Happiness)

So, I posted earlier about the chocolate-chocolate chunk cookies that were aptly named world peace cookies for their status as delicious cookies that could solve the world’s problems.  I disagree with this, but in my family, this recipe equals HAPPINESS (plus a few extra pounds).  I originally thought this recipe was a family recipe shrouded in secrecy, but I was quick to discover this is a common recipe known throughout the nation.  So much for that secret family recipe that was my key to greatness and fame (remember Bush’s baked beans commercials).  Well, I was cleared by my mother to share this recipe, which doesn’t matter now that I know everyone can get this recipe with a click of a button.  This recipe is one of a few recipes that my mom has kept over the years. Here’s her secret box of family recipes and other important info like my social security number (just kidding on that last part).

Another mother story:  Allegedly, someone in my family made a double recipe of scotch toffee in two separate pans.  On a family trip,  my mom and her brother (when they were children) were in the car with the pans.  They started off with 2 pans and ended up with one.  Where the other bars went, no one would admit quilt, but you can make your own assumptions.

This recipe can be whipped up in no time (I did it in 3 minutes, okay, maybe 4 but you get the idea).

Mix together the melted butter and oats.

You can use old-fashioned or quick cooking oatmeal.  Add the rest of the ingredients minus the chocolate chips (brown sugar, corn syrup, salt, and vanilla).  This is a picture on the right of the mixture.

I had light corn syrup when the recipe calls for dark corn syrup.  I was quick to discover that the light has a few different ingredients than the dark but the main difference is molasses. Karo’s website describes light corn syrup as perfect for a food needing a light, delicate flavor, while dark corn syrup produces a more robust flavor.  I don’t know?

Well, I also discovered that difference between light and dark brown sugar is the molasses content.  So, I used dark brown sugar and light corn syrup to make a long story short.  Use whatever you have on hand.

This mixture is spread into a pan (9×9, 8×8, or 13×9, depending on how thick you want your bars).  This mixture is put into a 325˚F oven for 15-25 minutes until the edges start to get browned.

When the bars come out, spread the chocolate chips on top to melt.

Come back in a few minutes (or wash the dishes you dirtied, the downside of baking) and spread the melted chocolately goodness.  

These bars cut better when they’ve had time to cool, but they always look so delicious still warm with that melted chocolate on top.

These cookies have a delicious toffee, caramelized sugar taste with a hint of chocolate.

Recipe: Scotch Toffee

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Mom
    Aug 21, 2010 @ 21:38:42

    It was actually 2 pans of baklava not scotch toffee that tried to go to the beach but ended up with only one pan at the end of the trip. I think that no one ate it but everyone ate it! Cheers

    Reply

Leave a Reply

