Pumpkins, People, and Pastries

Every food blog  I follow has some post about Fall (Fall weather, leaves, cookies, pies).  There is even a food blog that has started making Christmas cookies.  I’m not sure what your feelings are on this subject, but this is just so wrong.  I go to the store (craft, grocery, clothes), and their Halloween stuff is already on sale, their Thanksgiving stuff is on sale (okay that was an exaggeration, but you get my point).  Why can’t we enjoy the current holiday or season before rushing into the next one?  I for one, love Fall.  The leaves are turning.  The weather is getting cooler.  I get to snuggle up in my nice fluffy blanket.  I get to bake delicious fall desserts.  What’s not to love except for leaf raking?

This weekend was my Fall Break, so I invited some fellow Crew people to come over and bake some fall goodies.  I’ve been hankering for some pumpkin, and that’s just what I got.  I was going to make our baking into three separate posts (one for each recipe), but it got pretty hectic in our tiny kitchen.  Instead I will share the recipes with you because they are pretty straightforward sans lots of pictures and anecdotes.  We had some mishaps in our ability to READ the RECIPE.  Teaspoon does Not equal Tablespoon especially when it comes to baking powder.  Also, baking powder and baking soda are not interchangeable.  I just did some research, and they are pretty much the same, acting as leavening agents in baked goods.  But they react with the other ingredients in a recipe differently, so use what your recipe calls for.

(Here’s Jen adding ingredients, before she added 1 tablespoon of baking powder instead of 1 teaspoon)

 

Here’s Jane and Joy (yes we have lots of J names) prepping the muffins for the oven.

Here’s sisters, Molly and Caroline with their brownie bowl.  I never got a picture of Emily, but she helped as well.

Pumpkin Bread or Muffins

We made this bread recipe into muffins, but you can also continue with the bread.

Chocolately Brownies

These brownies were extra chocolately and delicious.

Pumpkin Whoopie Pies with Cream Cheese Filling

These were to-die-for.  I may give my first born child for these they were that good.  Some of our baking group had never eaten a whoopie pie before.  If you are the same way, climb out from under that rock, and eat this scrumptious treat.  Traditionally, they are chocolate ‘cakes’ with regular frosting, but this twist was even better.

Get out and enjoy the fall weather and the fall flavors.  Soon enough, it will be Thanksgiving, and then Christmas and then SNOW….

Recipes from:

Pumpkin Bread: Cooking Light

Brownies: Bon Appetit

Whoopie Pies: King Arthur Flour