Almond Candy Cane Cookies


Candy cane cookies that are actually almond flavored.  Crazy? maybe. Adorable? yes. Delicious? Absolutely.

I made these cookies last year to rave reviews.  These are shaped like candy-canes, but have almond flavoring in them. They would also taste delicious with peppermint flavoring.

Whip these up in the next week, in all your free time, or all your busy time preparing for Christmas and the holidays.

I’m starting a 2-week holiday break, so I’m super excited to relax.  Who thought college would be hard?  No one ever told me that.  I’m just kidding.  I’m really enjoying my second year of college, and I have been staying extra busy doing homework, studying for finals, staying involved in clubs, and trying to exercise.  Anyone else having trouble balancing exercising and all of the lovely sweets common for this time of year.  Hopefully during my time off in these next 2 weeks, I can stay on top of my working out.  Sadly, these cookies won’t help your predicament or mine.

So, as I was leaving college, I had a dozen eggs, sitting in my fridge that I had to use up before going home.  What to make? What to make?

I decided to whip up these cookies because they are simple and delicious.  Sadly, they proved more challenging than last year to shape and twist into candy canes.  My dough just didn’t want to stay together, hopefully you will have better luck. I didn’t take many great pictures (sorry), hope you can use your brain to follow my instructions.

Start by mixing together the shortening, butter, and powdered sugar.  I told you these weren’t very healthy.

Once that’s beaten, add in the egg, almond extract, and vanilla extract.  Mix again.

Here’s my first ever attempt at cracking an egg with one hand.  Pretty successful with no stray shells.  Give it a try (IN A SEPARATE BOWL), so next time you’re baking with someone, you can show off your awesome egg cracking skills.

Add in the flour and salt, and beat JUST until combined.  You will be working with these cookies a lot with your hands, so you want to limit your mixing so they don’t get tough.

Preheat the oven to 350˚F.

Divide the dough in half, and add the red food coloring to one half and mix.  You want a light red, so add more food coloring as needed.

Next, take out small chunks of each color. Roll each dough ball into a long roll, about 4 inches long and 1/2 inch in diameter.  You should have 1 red snake and 1 white snake.  Line these two snakes together and lightly push the doughs together.

Now, start twisting the strands lightly to form the swirl found in a candy cane.  Be gentle because the dough can fall apart.  If this happens, just pinch it back together.  When you  are satisfied with your twirled snake, curl the top 1 1/2 inch to form the hook of the candy cane. I got tired of my dough falling apart, so I grabbed a chunk of each color and mashed it together. I rolled it out, and twisted it around so my dough was all twisted in colors. This picture is a bad example.  There were some really cool ones, but they were gobbled up before I could get a picture.

Put these cookies on a greased cookie sheet.  Bake these for about 9 minutes until just lightly browned.  Here’s another unbaked one.

Enjoy!

Recipe from AllRecipes

Recipe: Almond Candy Cane Cookies

Leave a Reply

