Spectacular Flourless Chocolate Cake

Ready for some rich, delicious chocolate.  Then you MUST Try this flourless, chocolate cake, (especially great for a party where someone can’t have gluten).
I loved it so much,I wanted to make a second to give away as a gift, but I was too exhausted after taking two 2-hour finals the same day.  My college actually has a system where you can pick when you want to take your finals over a four-day period, but after 3 days of study period, I felt prepared, so I took my remaining two finals in one day.  So I guess, this is partly my fault, but can you blame me? I was sooo ready to go home and have some time off.  Both tests went well, so it was worth the extra exhaustion.
Okay, so back to this flourlesss cake.  Get ready to be blown away.
Preheat the oven to 375˚F, and butter an 8-inch round baking pan.
Start by melting the chocolate and butter, either in the microwave (at low heat, don’t want to burn your chocolate) or over a double boiler.  At college, in my small, badly-equipped kitchen,
I decided to go the microwave route.  Make sure you use good-quality chocolate.  You want the bittersweet kind to impart a rich, intense taste for your cake.

Be careful.  I don’t like printing a recipe out, so I bring my laptop to the kitchen.  I spilled some chocolate on my computer.  Thankfully, I had a washable keyboard cover.

Once your chocolate is melted, add sugar and mix.

 

Whisk in the eggs and cocoa powder.Pour the batter into your buttered pan.  Bake for 25 minutes until the top has a light crust.

Let cool, and then flip onto serving plate.
Thanks Joy for helping me whip this up, even if you thought it was too chocolately.  Does that exist?  I don’t think so.
Enjoy  this rich, chocolately cake! You will only need a small sliver to satisfy your chocolately craving.
Recipe from Gourmet
Recipe: Flourless Chocolate Cake
3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Luv What You Do
    Jan 02, 2011 @ 21:21:57

    That looks Amazing!
    I made a great chocolate mousse you should check out.
    http://luvwhatyoudo.wordpress.com/

    Reply

  2. becircen
    Jan 25, 2011 @ 20:20:38

    This is still too chocolate-y in my opinion! WE SHOULD ALWAYS MAKE MORE PUMPKIN WHOOPIE PIES! 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

