Cinnamon-Orange Bread

Orange complements lots of flavors.  It helps to bring out the flavor especially of cinnamon.  I’ve made many a cinnamon roll where the recipe calls for orange juice or orange zest.  Actually, citrus in general is a great addition to many recipes.

Here’s a recipe for a lovely bread where orange and cinnamon walk hand in hand.  

Begin by adding the warm water to your yeast.  Let this sit and bubble for 10 minutes.  If you are using instant yeast, you don’t have to wait the 10 minutes.  Just add the next ingredients.

Next, add milk, orange juice, sugar, butter, orange zest, eggs, salt, and 2 cups of flour to your yeast mixture.  Mix by hand or with an electric mixer, mixing until thoroughly combined.  My kitchen at college isn’t well stocked with kitchen gadgets.  I knew I had to zest an orange for this,so I scoured the kitchen for a zester.  I found a grater, SURPRISE!

We do have a garlic chopper thingie-magie, too.  Why? I don’t ask questions. (I played around with the color on this picture, tell me what you think.)

Add 1 cup of flour, and stir for about one minute.Keep adding remaining flour in 1/2 cup increments.  ATTN: You may not need all the flour, so don’t force it into your dough.  You will only end up with a solid block of dough (called hockey pucks in my house), and you will have wasted all of that flour. It will be really wet with just the 2 cups of flour.  

Still really sticky, so keep adding flour.

Almost there, add about 1/2 cup more.

Ready for kneading:

Turn onto a lightly floured surface, and knead for 2-5 minutes.  Kneading is gentle, so don’t  beat up your bread.  Don’t know how to knead properly?  Check out the plethora of videos online for tips.  How do you know you kneaded enough?  Stick a finger in the flour, then poke your bread.  It’s ready when it springs backs pretty fast.  If it doesn’t spring back, keep kneading.

Place your dough ball into a greased bowl.  Cover with plastic wrap or a shower cap.  Shower cap?

No, I’m not crazy, I always have the bowls that seem to hate plastic wrap and repel it at all costs.  Well, you can’t fool me bowl.  I was informed of the shower cap trick.  Snag a shower cap from those hotel kits or buy one at the drug store.

Let this dough sit for about 1-1 1/2 hours or until doubled in size.  In this cold weather, it usually takes 2 hours.  I forgot to take a picture of my doubled dough, so you will have to take my word for it.  Divide your dough in half.  Grease two 4*9 loaf pans.  Mix 2/3 cup sugar and 2 tbsp. cinnamon. Melt 2 tbsp. butter.  This will be your filling.  Roll out one piece of dough on a lightly floured surface into a rough 8*12 rectangle.  Spread 1/2 of the melted butter on the do

ugh, followed by 1/2 of the cinnamon-sugar mixture. I forgot to mix my cinnamon and sugar beforehand.  I was feeling lazy, so I sprinkled the dough with cinnamon, then sugar, then cinnamon.

Roll up your dough.

Place into your greased pan.  Repeat with other half of dough.

Cover again, and let rise again for 1 to 1 1/2 hours until the dough crests at least 1/2-1 inch over the edge of the pan.While rising, preheat the oven to 350˚F. Once risen, bake for 40-45 minutes until the loaves are lightly brown.  Immediately remove from pans, and let dry on a drying rack.  If you don’t, all the condensation will condensate at the bottom, and your bread will have a soggy bottom. No one wants a soggy bottom.  Enjoy with a little butter.  One of my loaves had a scary little bubble, but it still tasted delicious.

 

Recipe from: Baking Bites

Recipe:Orange Cinnamon Swirl Bread


2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. ES
    Feb 05, 2011 @ 10:36:14

    Good job Chem, crew and cupcakes. I may try the cinnamon orange bread this afternoon-or some basic whole wheat bread because Marcia is not a baker and may not have a grater, etc.

    Have you thought of inviting your readers to request a recipe or recipe type? Just a thought. Love your assistant baker and kitchenaid owner!

    Reply

  2. becircen
    Feb 08, 2011 @ 00:10:05

    This sounds strangely, goood.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

