Vanilla Bean-Banana Bread

Ever heard of vanilla sugar?  I had received some vanilla sugar a while back, and it was sitting quietly in my pantry.  I forgot about it for a long time, but before I went back to school a few weeks ago, I spotted it again.  I decided to bring it back to school and what do you know?  I stumbled upon a recipe that called for vanilla sugar.  It was a recipe for banana bread, and I had some bananas past their prime.

Have bananas that you want to use but not ready to bake?  Bananas can be kept in the fridge for 1-4 days and they will ripen slower.  On the other hand, if you have green bananas, and you want to bake tomorrow.  Put your bananas in a paper bag.

What if you don’t have vanilla sugar?

Here’s a close-up of the sugar. Those black dots aren’t dirt; they are pieces of vanilla bean.  You can make vanilla sugar.  Scrape half of a vanilla bean into a container with 2-3 cups of sugar.  Stir well, cover and let sit until vanilla is infused into sugar (1-2 weeks). This can be stored for months in an airtight container.

Don’t have 1-2 weeks to wait for the infusion of vanilla.  Just add plain sugar and add a little extra vanilla. You can also add cut open a vanilla bean and scrape out the insides.

Okay, now for the recipe.

Begin by preheating the oven to 350˚F.  Grease a 9×5 in. loaf pan.

In a small bowl, mix together flour, baking powder, salt, and nutmeg.

In another large bowl, mash bananas.  Add in vanilla sugar, eggs, milk, butter, and vanilla extract. I forgot to mash my bananas first, so I had larger chunks in my bread.

Mix until combined.

Add in dry ingredients.

Mix just until combined.  

Pour batter into prepared pans.

Bake for 55-60 minutes until a toothpick inserted into the center comes out clean.

Cool on wire rack before slicing.

I gave this bread away as a present, so I wasn’t able to cut it open and taste.  It smelled delicious with the speckles of vanilla coming though.

Enjoy!

Recipe from: Baking Bites

Recipe: Vanilla Bean Banana Bread

Leave a Reply

