Streusel Muffins and Some Catch-up

I’m sorry!  I haven’t posted a recipe in over 2 weeks.  I was in GA two weeks ago for spring break. No, I wasn’t partying like crazy and getting my 15 minutes of fame on Girls Gone Wild.  I spent my spring break, rowing, rowing, and more rowing.  I had a really great time, enjoying some warm weather.  We came back to MA, and we had a fresh layer of snow.  This past week. I was busy with lots of school, but the semester is over half way over.

I decided to catch up on some baking, and whip together 3 recipes yesterday.  I was excited.  I was going to bake 3 things in 3 hours.  Pretty good if I do say so myself.  Sadly, my brownies weren’t soft and gooey; they were dense and cakey.  I burnt my granola, too.  I think it’s a family curse.  My family loves homemade granola, but we tend to forget it in the oven.  And we remember the granola when we smell it burning.  Well, the curse hit me hard.  I did have success with my streusel muffins.

Do you happen to know someone named Martha Stewart?  Just the craziest crafty woman in America.  I really want to hate Martha because she is so perfect, but her cookbooks are amazing.  They have pictures — a must for me– of every recipe!  Well, I recently bought Martha Stewart’s Cupcakes cookbook and have been dying to try some of the recipes.  I decided to try the streusel cupcakes because they would travel well for someone’s birthday care package (Hint Hint: Erin and Emily).

Streusel Cupcakes: Begin by preparing the streusel topping.

STREUSEL TOPPING:

Whisk together the flour, brown sugar, cinnamon, and salt.  Cut in the butter using a pastry blender or 2 knives.

Continue until crumbly.

Refrigerate for 20 minutes.

CUPCAKES:

Begin, by mixing together the flour, baking soda, baking powder, and salt.

In another bowl, beat together the butter and sugar until pale and fluffy.

Add 3 eggs, one at a time, beating until incorporate after each one.

Add in vanilla.

Add flour mixture and sour cream; stir just until combined.

Sour cream:  mine had a nice picture on the packaging for the Grand Canyon.

So creamy too:

Mix together the batter.

Scoop into the cupcake tins.

Remove streusel topping from fridge.   Sprinkle half on top of the cupcakes.  Press crumbs gently into cupcakes.  Sprinkle other half on top.  Don’t press down.  It may seem like a lot of streusel but it will be tasty.

Put the cupcakes in the oven for 20 minutes.  Here’s a picture of cupcakes after 2 minutes in the oven.  See how the butter in the streusel is starting to melt.  So yummy!

Bake until a toothpick inserted in the center comes out clean.

Optional: Make milk glaze (in recipe below).  Since I was mailing these, I skipped the glaze.

Recipe from: Martha Stewart’s Cupcakes

Recipe: Streusel Cupcakes

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Erin
    Mar 27, 2011 @ 20:37:23

    THOSE LOOK DELICIOUS!!!! And thank you for thinking of Emmy and me on our birthdays… I know that you packed a few extras in there for me =)

    I miss you, Kelly! Keep the fun and yummy posts coming.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

