Granola People

If you remember,  I tried to make homemade granola recently.  It failed.  I mixed it up and was cooking the oats in the oven.  Well,  I completely forgot about them until I smelled them burning.  Sadly, they were past salvaging.  But I did not despair.  I tried my hand again at this creation with success.  I like making my own granola because:

1) It’s tastier.

2) You know what ingredients are being added.  Most granolas are actually pretty high in fat.  My granola was only good, wholesome ingredients.

This post is titled Granola People because I live in a very hippy, liberal town.  Some people truck fresh fruit around on bicycles instead of trucks.  Everyone composts.  People drink their coffee or tea in Mason jars. And many other things, not that I am complaining.  I feel like many people in this area also make their own granola, too.  I’m rambling, so let’s get on with the recipe.

Begin by preheating the oven to 350˚F and spray a baking sheet.

The recipe calls for almonds to be added to the cooked granola, but I wanted my almonds toasted.  If I had toasted them with the granola all together, they probably would have burned.  So, I toasted my almonds while I was whipping up the granola.

Toast on a baking sheet for 8-10 minutes, stirring the almonds half-way through.

Next, mix together the brown sugar, applesauce, honey, cinnamon, and salt  in a large bowl.  

Add the oats to this mixture.

Stir well, making sure the oats are coated evenly with the liquid mixture.  See that shininess: that’s the liquid coating the oats.  Spread onto prepared pan in an even layer.  Bake for 20 minutes, then remove the pan and stir up the granola.  Spread out into an even layer again.  Place the pan back in the oven for 15-25 minutes more until golden brown.  I recommend checking on your granola every 5 minutes to avoid any burning mishaps that I am an expert at doing.

Let cool.  Once cool, stir in the toasted almonds, cranberries, raisins, or whatever dried fruit your would like.  Enjoy with yogurt, fresh fruit, or with milk.

Recipe: Granola

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Erin
    Apr 21, 2011 @ 14:27:51

    I want some of this in my belly. NOW! I miss you, Miss Kelly!

    Reply

  2. Maggie
    May 01, 2011 @ 22:19:03

    Can’t wait to see all of you! GRANOLA and HIMYM and DIET COKES for all!!!!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

