Row, Row, Row Your Boat

As you may know from my blog title, I am a member of my college’s crew team.  I really enjoy the sport, even if it involves waking up at 4:30 AM to go to practice.  4:30 is early, but I get to be outdoors, see the stars, see the sun rise, and spend time with some awesome people.  Every weekend we have a regatta, our fancy name for a race.  One of the great aspects of these regattas is the regatta food.  What exactly is regatta food?  Well…

Our coach understands the importance of being well fed and fueled for our races, so she spares no expense.  We begin the day of the regatta with bagels (many assortments)… complete with cream cheese and peanut butter.

This week, we had the extra bonus of nutella. See how much this was liked.

For breakfast, we also get juice, yogurt (organic to be exact, so fancy), and other snacks.

We also have regatta lunch at the race site.  Usually, that considers of sandwich fixings including lunch meats, fresh cut tomatoes, every type of mustard or mayonnaise.  We also have cut veggies (peppers, carrots, snow peas) with dips, dried fruit, chips, pretzels, and cookies.  Obviously, we are fed very well.  See all those coolers filled with deliciousness.

One of the things that is sometimes lacking is homemade baked goods because in my opinion homemade is always better than store bought.  I had this great idea to make OAR COOKIES to mimic the oars we use to row.  Thankfully, our oars are pretty simple and easy to replicate: only 3 stripes.

I was so excited; I just had to find time in my hectic schedule to whip these treats up.  Thankfully, I had some help. A few of my fellow crewbies helped me out.

For the cookies, beat butter and sugar at medium speed until fluffy or beat by hand.  Look at that delicious goodness.

Add egg, beating until combined.  Add flour, cocoa, and salt, beat just until blended.

Divide dough into 2 equal portions; flatten each portion into disk. Cover these disks and chill for 10 minutes.  This will make the cookie edges more defined.  This is a necessary step.  If you need to skim some time, you can put the dough in the freezer instead for a few minutes. While the dough is chilling, preheat the oven to 350˚.  Prepare two cookie sheets with cookie spray.

Once chilled, lay out on a lightly floured surface, and roll dough to 1/8 inch thick.

Cut into desired shapes.  For the oars, we cut rectangles with one of the short edges having a slight diagonal cut to replicate the oar shape.  You can use this recipe for anything.

Put the cookies 2 inches apart on the prepared pans.  Bake for 9-12 minutes depending on the shape and size of your cookie.  Let cool on baking sheets for a few minutes, then transfer to wire racks.

While the cookies are cooling, prepare the frosting.  This recipe is the same recipe I use for all decorated cookies because it dries quickly and doesn’t have raw eggs in them.

Begin by mixing egg white powder (yes, this is part of the egg that is dried but there is no risk of salmonella) with the powdered sugar.  Add in water and flavoring; continue beating on high until icing is thick and glossy.

Separate icing into smaller bowls in order to add colors or tints.  I removed a small amount of icing that I left white for the stripes. The rest I colored bright yellow.

Decorate the cookies.

See the resemblance.

This isn’t one of the better ones, but you get the idea. When I handed these out after the regatta, everyone loved them.  The chocolatey cookie was delicious and moist, while the icing added a hint of sweetness.

Be creative with your cookies, and enjoy!

Recipe Adapted From: Southern Living

Recipe: Chocolate Sugar Cookies

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Mom
    May 21, 2011 @ 21:16:21

    Nice Oar cookies. Still waiting for my very own homemade granola-remember, I got you started cooking and buy most of your ingredients-esp the vodka for your vanilla. Love you!!

    Reply

  2. Kathy
    Mar 16, 2012 @ 11:11:05

    Great idea! just came across your blog. I have to make cupcakes for my son’s rowing club and this is exactly what I need to decorate them with.
    p.s. my son wants to row in college too but I am so worried about the workload at school and demanding practice schedule. You make me feel better about it. thanks!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

