Knock You Naked Brownies

At the end of the semester, I had some ingredients that I wanted to use up.  I stumbled upon a recipe for these brownies, and these were perfect for the random ingredients I had on hand.

With a name like Knock You Naked Brownies, I was ready to find out what these brownies were all about.  These treats are dressed-up brownies (actually made with chocolate cake mix)  with caramel, chocolate, and nuts. I skipped the nuts, so anyone with nut allergies could sample these delectable treats.

I took this treat to a little crew get-together.  The 9 of us dug into the brownie pan with forks and spoons. Who needs plates and napkins?  We woofed these brownies down in 10 minutes flat.  And, boy were they deeeelicious.

Now on to the brownies.  Begin by preheating the oven to 350˚F.  In a large bowl, mix together the cake mix, chopped pecans (optional), 1/3 cup evaporated milk, and the melted butter. Stir together until combined.  This mixture will be very thick.

Press half the mixture into a greased 9×9 inch baking pan. 

Bake for 8-10 minutes.

In a double boiler, melt the caramels with the additional 1/2 cup of evaporated milk.  I tried to melt these in the microwave.  FAIL!    The caramels never fully congealed with the evaporated milk.  The original recipe called for melting the caramels in the double boiler, so that is what I suggest. 

When the caramels are melted and all mixed with the evaporated milk, pour over the baked brownie base.

Sprinkle chocolate chips evenly over the caramel.

With the remaining brownie dough, turn out onto plastic wrap.  Use your hands to press the dough into a large square a little smaller than the pan.  Flip layer onto caramel layer.  Bake for 25-35 minutes.  Remove from the oven and let cool.  Put these brownies in the fridge for a few hours, so they can set up.  I know they will look so delicious and welcoming, but this is a necessary step.

Sadly, my camera was being borrowed at this time, so I wasn’t able to take pictures of these last few steps.  Have faith that you know what you are doing.  I have faith in you.

Remember how I said that 8 friends and I devoured these brownies in under 10 minutes.  Well, I didn’t get a picture of the final product, but here’s what it looked like after we had had it.

Recipe from: The Pioneer Woman

Recipe: Knock You Naked Brownies

Leave a Reply

